Buddhism notes


I take refuge in the three jewels:

The Buddha – the potential within us for an awakened mind (the deep self that is OK?)

The Dharma – the truth – ways of nature, how things are. Includes Buddha’s Four Noble Truths:

Suffering exists;

Suffering arises from attachment to desires;

Suffering ceases when attachment ceases.

Freedom from suffering can be achieved by following the Path: That is, right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration.

The Sangha – the community of people who have walked the path before me. “Each one had personal conditioning to untangle, lives to understand, loss and fear with which to wrestle and hearts to offer.” Sharon Salzberg

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in buddhism, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s