Learned from the Past

Reading Invisible Acts of Power by Caroline Myss. Have had awful neuralgia in my face for days. All the muscles seem to be tight, but not the rest of my body. I remember this once years before and it went on for months, but it was all over my body. Can’t remember what lifted it.

She suggests that if we are still attached to or processing our past, this locks in that energy and drains us.

I thought about this – I have a lot of my past, not still (I think) processing, but perhaps giving me my identity, yet it’s because I can draw on this, I can reach out to others and help them. I can and do find something in myself to match their experiences and use this understanding to help them. Perhaps it is partly being a writer.

I vowed I would move forward and release myself to intuition and the direction of the universe and the tension melted out of my face.

Back to Buddha’s Brain – Rick Hansen also talks about “second darts”, the worries we create to add to the initial stress – our mental self-talk. Usually how we describe or react to something is much more stressful than the event.

When he says that psychological pain uses many of the same pathways as physical pain, a light went on. My brain was trained from very young to experience psychological pain so no wonder chronic back pain took hold so easily – it travelled sensitized pathways.

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in books that caught my mind, brain and mind, buddhism, Finding our way, Self-talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

