Small Blessings

Trying to cheer myself up with a lot of back pain and need to rest between tasks. Trying to make myself feel the day is worth while. Don’t know why it never works to try at changing mood. Telling myself never works although I constantly try it.

Then I thought: try and receive the small blessings, just quietly observe them, don’t count or force them. And it worked – I felt bathed in sunlight, helped by the actual beautiful day. Then later I read the remark by Martin Seligman in Flourish that a measure of likely longevity is being able to accept love from others. And I realized that my forcing the mood is lonely and punitive, while accepting blessings makes me feel loved and cared for, which must be healing. As does my prayer, “May I be happy, may I be blessed.”

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in chronic pain, Finding our way, pain - coping techniques, spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

