Saying my affirmations: may I be happy, etc, when it occurs to me that beyond just stating it, one is setting the intention.

Wednesday, 16 November 2011

Started Hypnosis for IBS CDs. Very soothing. Hope it will help the highly reactive state of my digestion since the bug I caught in Africa (undiagnosed for 10 months) and highly unpleasant treatment following. This came on top of undiagnosed celiac disease for 25 years which had left my digestive tract vulnerable to bugs.

The celiac is controlled by a gluten-free diet, but I also have problems with milk, both the protein (casein) and lactose. When I did pick up the African infection which wrought havoc for months, my whole digestive tract became inflamed and hypersensitive – and has not subsequently calmed down. I gather, though no one has told me, that it is IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome). The inflammation also affected my ligaments, so my back got much worse.

Was reading New Scientist and came across article saying hypnosis is the only effective treatment for IBS, developed at Manchester University and paid for under NHS. Talk of synchronicity! So found the site and downloaded the CDs.

Started the CDs – very relaxing and the thing that came to me afterwards (connected?) was the vision of one’s core self being secure. That I have the right to choose this inner state – to choose only what is good and to safeguard this core. It made me realize how easily open I am and how I almost feel it is selfish, heartless not to be open to others’ distress. Yet, again it is like putting the oxygen mask on oneself before helping another. One has to act from whole – back to Sharon Salzberg and Buddhism again.

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

