An English Christmas

Saturday, 19 December 2011

A long gap as we have been in England. We arrived at to be greeted by an ecstatic granddaughter dressed in a dress I made for her mother when she was seven. Chattering, long hair flying, warm and loving, just to look at her makes my heart smile.

Thursday, 22 December 2011

My back is not coping with the amount of sitting, uncomfortable chairs, being unable to orchestrate my day. It is back to chronic pain.

Miracle though – there are 3 clinics doing low level laser (more info) in Britain and one is 5 miles away, so am having treatments to try to stabilize it.

Very low and tearful, pain seems endless and limiting: I can’t sit for long, walk far or join in most of the family activities. The weight of dealing with pain dragged me down, I couldn’t see a way ahead and felt the weight of the effort to be positive and brave. The wish is there, but where, my soul cried out, are the buffers at the end of the track?

Where is the give when I hit the wall? Immediately came the voice, “I am here! ” And I felt the enveloping relief of God’s mercy. In the peace that followed I could say, “I am prepared to go on to the next stage of development, however hard it is. And there was peace in my heart. Must reread Buddhist lack of attachment.

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in back pain, personal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

