Suffer title Children

By request, I read Bible stories aloud and, with great difficulty, steered away from the Crucifixion. We settled on Jonah and the whale. Very disconcerting how grim God appears – quite like the nastiest fairy story. Thank goodness they hadn’t wanted Job! Then it struck me as I tried to explain it to her, that I was in fact explaining it also to myself. That the real story is that if you feel nasty inside, full of hate etc., then you are closed to all things good – the destruction that was threatened to Nineveh. So, I explained, God wasn’t threatening them, just explaining what happens and when they changed and were sorry, then they could connect with goodness.

It’s hard being God, I said. He is sad every time you hurt yourself. Think of feeling that sadness for all the people in the world! And if you do kind things He feels happy. As we were driving home from the Boxing Day party, I looked up at the misty dark and wondered, “Is it that we can either nourish or drain God?”

My cousin had helpfully said to me about my back that my life was not worth living. I had explained I couldn’t drive over to see her the day before we flew as it would be too much for my back. “Oh, no, I instinctively replied, “it is SO worthwhile.”

And all the way home, watching the sky, I felt so connected and so fulfilled that, yes, my life, though limited, is so full of joy.

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in personal, spirituality, thoughts on God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

