Thyroid Throes

Went for a thyroid check up. My latest ultrasound shows the nodules on my thyroid have changed and I should have a biopsy. After that, if they are malignant, then my thyroid will be removed; if, like my last biopsy, they can’t get a reasonable sample, and the result is ambiguous, then she will refer me for surgery. But the decision will be mine.

If I have the thyroid removed, am afraid of the process of recalibrating my meds as my thyroid has been very difficult to stabilize.

Came home feeling slightly stunned, but later this mellowed into acceptance and peace. Felt a great kindness surrounding me, cradling me. Acceptance of what comes next. I asked my husband if he was worried and he said, “Oddly enough, no.” Which is what I also felt.

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

