Pain Clinic – a Pain in Itself

Finally, my appointment at the pain clinic came up – after 15 months on the waiting list! Had found message on answering machine last Thursday saying to call the clinic. Tried on Friday and Monday.

Finally got a human who said that woman who makes appointments is only in on Tuesday – Thursday. Put me through to extension where got answering machine giving an email address. Unfortunately, her name began with Mc or Mac and she didn’t specify which. Tried again and got a very pleasant woman who had no trace of me. Told to phone back later.

Finally, got the right person who said she had shredded my application. Why?! “You told me you didn’t need to come.” “But I have never spoken to you before.”

Well, she said, I could come tomorrow, but she had no notes for me. Could I write a medical history? Felt as if have fallen off a cliff.

So arrived today and filled in massive, detailed questionnaire. As usual, questions where the alternative answers offered didn’t match what I needed to say! For example, yes, I am down sometimes with pain, but am overall very cheerful. No box for that!

Saw two very nice physios who examined me and took me through the questionnaire, so was able to amplify my answers. Then after a wait, the doctor came in. Very discouraging as he was very forthright and didn’t like questions.

He told me he would give me strong NSAIDs, which I didn’t want as my stomach has been so badly damaged by them and it was voltaren that triggered my celiac in the first place. He grew quite heated when I didn’t want them even as suppositories because the increase the risk of heart attack and because, also, even though they do not pass through the digestive tract, they do thin the mucosa.

So he gave me statex, which is morphine. When I sounded uncertain, he got heated again and said, “Anyone can have a reason not to take anything! It will help you sleep and improve your mood.”

I replied (and it was on my intake form and in my notes) that I do not have any pain at night and sleep well. I am not depressed; my mood is up most of the time. Also, I do not have continuous pain; it is caused by sitting and standing.

“Oh,” he said. “That is a very good reason.” He agreed to give me statex to take when needed to give me a pain-free window so I can do more things. He said, and I liked him for this, that he wanted to give me a wider life and our first goal could be to be able to go to a movie.

He is also going to start on spinal injections next Wednesday.

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in back pain, chronic pain, coping with pain, pain, pain - coping techniques, pain relief, therapies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

