All we Have to Fear

Watching an episode of Coronation Street in which a character was in a state of drunken despair. Realize I have always been afraid of reaching a point in life where there was no point in continuing. Similar to the fear of pain I had in the final stages of labour with one of my children, where I could see a frontier approaching where I would no longer be human, but just an animal in a trap.

This old fear licked the corners of my mind like a malignant flame. “I am willing to understand,” I said. And reached for my book, which happened to be Modern Buddhism: the Path of Compassion and Wisdom by Geshe Kelsang Gyatso.

Talk about getting an answer – in the first few pages, he pointed out that when things go wrong we think the situation is the problem, when in fact it is our minds that are the real problem. And, if we approach the vicissitudes of life peacefully, they are not problems.

Yes, I thought with recognition: it is the emotional charge we attach that makes them unendurable. The same as pain – it is how I describe my situation to myself that makes the pain a crucifixion or a dull rumble in the background of my identity.

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in books that caught my mind, Brain and Pain, buddhism, life journey, Self-talk, The Emotional Tightrope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

