The Medical Machine

Frustration! I am now two weeks off the test for the sacral nerve ablation. The Pain Clinic has expressed deep reservations over doing it on me, I can’t tolerate opioid painkillers or morphine. So the ablation is my last chance.

However, a ray of hope: I read in the local paper about a neurofeedback clinic in town, which the columnist said had worked with is pain when everything else failed. My ears pricked – Open Focus had worked better than anything else with me, so neurofeedback might well be an answer.

Phone. They could see me at once provided my GP would refer me. Then I would have an idea whether it might work – and, if so I could let the ablation go. It is run by medical doctors as a private clinic, so my GP would not have to weigh the cost to the health service. It is drug-free, what have I to lose (apart from cash!). All she has to do is scribble on a prescription form. They do not need a history, just my details and a reason for referral. So I don’t feel it unreasonable to phone her office to ask.

That was 8 days ago. I called again yesterday and was told, “It’s on her desk and she knows about it.” She was also leaving on holiday last night,

Today I called the neurofeedback clinic – no referral. I have lost the window before the ablation.

Does it mean she was too busy? But a week is surely long enough for a scribbled note. Or thinks it is flaky? Or feels I am dictating? Yet, she is busy and I didn’t want to take her time over something so quick. The clinic has actually suggested I made a phone request.

Why is it so difficult to help oneself? I try so hard to be positive, to find hope, to help myself, to find solutions. Why is one so often stymied by the medical machine?

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in chronic pain. Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

