Good Moves

Have been working on moving as if not in pain and it really works. NLP always stresses the connection between how you stand and move and how that makes you feel. (April 25 also NLP Resourcefulness Exercise.)

At stress management courses, I used to run an exercise where I asked the group to stand and think of something that made them smile. To encourage them, I gave them a thought for the day:

“Did you know that 90% of company presidents are impotent and constipated?”.

When they were laughing, I then asked them to feel depressed – and, of course, they couldn’t.

It worked well until one time my audience of 100 was almost paralytic. This puzzled me, as it was funny, but not THAT funny! Until I was later introduced to the company president who had been sitting in the front row.

The moving as if not in pain is really helping. Today, my husband said he watched me walking ahead of him as if I were a young woman. And all the time, I had been consciously saying to myself, “Walk as if it doesn’t hurt.” Which it did, but I kept going longer.

Even more, has been the spin off for mood. Just moving as if pain-free makes me feel more capable and cheerful. Not that I was particularly downhearted before, but the consistent resourceful feeling is a real bonus.

So much is my choice. I was walking round the (huge) grocery store past all the foods I can’t eat, which is most of them. Very tempting to feel sad or to compare my range with anyone else’s. But the choice is mine and I can waste my energy thinking of what might have been or concentrate on something else – and it does work.

I have found tricks with dealing with a very restricted diet. When we shop together, I choose the produce and he does the aisles that require more walking and are packed with forbidden foods.

The other really good one for morale was when, early on, I threw away my cookery books and, instead, clipped any normal recipe I found that I could eat. I put them all in large photograph albums so that whenever I want a recipe for, perhaps, salmon or curry, I only choose from possible alternatives. Before that, I was overwhelmed by barriers and my persona became a “have not.”.

Sure, I would love to eat certain foods, or anyway be able to go out for a meal easily, but I do have a choice as to whether I let it eat me up. Of course, I know what the foods taste like, and it is amazing how many people describe restaurant meals to me in mouthwatering detail before saying, “Of course, you couldn’t eat that!” I do wonder why we are talking about it then. And sometimes, I remember the taste and feel of a food, like chocolate, in exquisite detail – visiting it, so to speak. But always, the choice is mine – and when moving as if joyful and pain-free, it is much easier to make.

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in back pain, Brain and Pain, chronic pain, coping with pain, courage, therapies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Moves

  1. Pingback: Reaching for Joy | Pathway through Pain – Journey to Joy

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

