Master Builder

Absolute chaos! We are halfway through renovating the master bathroom. We have a disconnected bath, no vanity or toilet, just subfloor, part mudded walls and a ragged hole in the outside wall. Add to the mix an energetic kitten whose one ambition is to get under the floor boards, dust, boxes, and sheets of drywall all over the house and you have a fun recipe.

It is all go as tradesmen come and go in a weirdly synchronized dance. How they do it so good humouredly, I don’t know. Last night the plumber who was expected at 3.00 in the afternoon, finally got here at 9.15 at night, but still cheerful.

Today, the front has been taken off the house to expose encrusted rot. And we are enjoying it! Is it neurofeedback? I have never been able to roll with the punches like this. But as each catastrophe looms, I find myself calm and mentally shrugging my shoulders. I think it must be the neurofeedback as I was more thrown at the beginning and this blessed calm is since my last session.

What is interesting to observe is that when I don’t agitate over the situation, actually it is quite enjoyable. Everyone is obliging and cheerful and now I am not measuring everything against my expectations or demanding things happen as we planned, the days are pleasant and each day we can see progress.

It has been a lesson in how to let life unfold. When I look at all the holdups from a global perspective (and not just my urgent desire to get it done), then I can see quite clearly that each person is doing the best they can and not intending any disruption. Just hope I keep hold of the lesson and it doesn’t vanish into thin air. Let’s hope the neurofeedback lasts.

It also seems to help the pain. Am not pain-free. My back still hurts when I do too much, I still couldn’t sit through a movie and I still need to lie down several times a day. But the back recovers faster and the pain cycle doesn’t seem to get set the same way. A few weeks ago, if I sat or stood too long, my back flared and could hurt for days. Now, I lie down for half an hour and then go straight out and walk, cook, get on with my life. I am much more active and adventurous. Will it last or is it a flash in the pan? I don’t know, but I have hope and that is precious.

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in coping with pain, Finding our way, life lessons, Shit happens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Master Builder

  1. Mike says:

    I understand a reader had difficulty leaving a comment, so this is a test message. It is also a loving tribute from someone involved with this Blog. Every entry is a surprise and a joy – I often laugh, am frequently surprised and am always touched. Keep it going, please!

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

