The Greater Whole

Building on an earlier post, I have been reading all I can about the theory of the holographic universe as interpreted by our holographic brain. The idea is that the universe is actually made of mainly space. Even our bodies or the chair I am sitting on are largely space. Quantum physics shows us that at a microscopic level all we are made of are whirling particles of energy.

Seems extraordinary when I look at my hand typing or my very solid iPad. So I suspend belief and read further. These whirling particles are drifting around in waves, formless until observed, rather like, I imagine, the snowy interference on a TV screen.

Experiments show that electrons (the base substance of the universe) can be both a particle or a wave. Light or electrons are waves, fuzzing around like static, with limitless possibilities. You cannot say where an electron is, over there or over here, until you observe it. Then it is frozen into form. So the childish belief that if we go out of a room, it is no longer there, is at one level true.

So we are swirling in a sea of information (The Field) which our brains translate into the world we see. At the core, as Dr. John Hagelin puts it, “is a single universal field of intelligence.” Our eyes don’t see so much as import the streams of information to the brain which constructs our material world.

Stephen Davis puts it best: “Consciousness is what chooses the precise frequencies in The Field and downloads them to a human brain which then converts them into space/time particles and out pops our reality.”

This ties in with my own belief that “in the beginning was the Word”. That the world was not created as an object, but was an idea, a possibility, and we are essential to make it manifest. It is as if God said, “I have a dream.” The energy of the idea is there, evolving slowly through the ages.

First came the nuts and bolts of the physical world, the goesphere. Next the biosphere: animals and us. Pierre Teilhard de Chardin believed that the next stage is the “noosphere” which he defined as emerging through and constituted by the interaction oh human minds. “The goal of history, then,” nicely put in the Wikipedia entry, “is an apex of thought/consciousness.”

This means that we through courage, love, art are building God, allowing this central idea to flower and God’s hope become truth. We are also through war and hatred destroying it.

According to quantum theory, it is our consciousness that constructs the world we see. We are selective, without being aware we are. At a very basic level, our ears and eyes are translating electrical patterns into the world as we know it. At a higher level, I wonder if we can influence the world by the thoughts and feelings we choose.

I know that after 9/11, I tried to pray and only found a static confusion. And I know that in cities with high levels of meditation, the crime rate falls.

I tried to imagine The Field, and I kept coming up with, “it has to be love.” And, surely it must be: people who have near death experiences all report light and love. So, when I watch the news each night in its searing wretchedness, all I can do is try and make my field as loving as possible.

During the Iraq war, my daughter phoned in tears – her roommate’s parents were being bombed. She didn’t know if they were alive or dead. As I got back into bed, all I could think was, “This is so wrong!” But what could I do? All I could think of was to forgive everyone who had hurt me, to clean up at least the small space where I live. Not much, but I can try.

More info:

Particle – wave duality

Bohm – Pribram – ideas

The Holographic Universe: a Remarkable New Theory of Reality that Explains the Paranormal Abilities of the Mind, the Latest Frontiers of Physics and the Unsolved Riddles of Brain and Body by Michael Talbot

Butterflies are Free to Fly: a New and Radical Approach to Spiritual Evolution by Stephen Davis. An e-book that I found had the clearest explanation. However, the second part where he put in his personal spiritual interpretation, I found didn’t work for me.

The Field: the Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe by Lynne McTaggart.

We are thoughts in the mind of God – link

Article on Bohm’s theory – link

Interview with Dr. John Hagelin – link

Pierre Tailhard de Chardin and the theory of the noosphere – link

The Noosphere – Pierre Tailhard de Chardin’s Vision – link

Wikipedia entry on the noosphere – link

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in books that caught my mind, Ideas, spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Greater Whole

  1. Fascinating blogpost. I too have been fascinated between the relationship between matter, energy and the Noosphere as described by Teilhard de Chardin. I have a blog devoted to the ideas of Teilhard de Chardin and have done a brief series of posts on the Noosphere.

    http://teilhard.com/2013/08/13/the-noosphere-part-i-teilhard-de-chardins-vision/

    Peace,
    W. Ockham

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

