The Eye of the Beholder

“When you are full of problems, there is no room for anything new to enter, no room for a solution. So whenever you can, make some room, create some space, so that you can find the life inderneath your life situation.

“Use your senses fully. Be where you are. Look around. Just look, don't interpret. See the light, shapes, colors, textures……Be aware of the space that allows everything to be.”

Eckhart Tolle – The Power of Now

 

He is so right. We had taken a trip to San Francisco, one of our special places in the world, where time stops. We sit on the hill across the Bay, watching the sun setting behind the Golden Gate Bridge and the lights come on across the city. One of those rare moments when I pinch myself and say, “It's today, not any other day, not the day before or a week after. It's NOW!”

I had waited, breathlessly for this day, painted pictures in my head, felt my hand on the guard rail of the bridge, felt it's heart pulse in my imagination. And we were there, hot and dusty after the flight, in a shabby hotel bedroom. Yes, we were there – and my back throbbed with pain from the flight. My eyes were swollen and my mind numb, just pain drummed. “I can't,” I whispered. “You go out for a bit.”

“God, help me,” I wept. Days of pain, yes, I'm used to it, but this day – this one day?

The words just whispered in my head, “Look for the beauty!” I gazed round the room, shades of dirty beige, ill lit because of the walkway outside. But there were geraniums outside, bright as hope – and all afternoon I lay and watched them. So I learned to use beauty to take me into the NOW, to surrender my plans and hopes and dwell here, centred on a single, perfect piece of beauty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in chronic pain, coping with pain. Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

