Peace Full

Better than a thousand hollow words is one word that brings peace.

Buddha (560-483 B.C.)

 

Bless Kindle free books. I was trolling Freebooksifter and found a short meditation on four words which I have been using ever since.

The words are light, love, peace and forgiveness. For each word you make three statements. Although it is not the first word, I start with peace because it sets me up in a meditative state for the rest of the meditation. “I am peace, only peace” and I try to feel at one with peace. “I am filled with peace” – I imagine peace flooding my body, leaving no room for anything negative. Finally, “I am surrounded by peace” – I feel peace like an aura, protecting my spirit from the cacophany of daily life.

I come back to “peace” throughout the day. Traffic: “peace” and the noise and friction are somehow distanced. Feeling rushed against time: “peace” takes me like a small craft, to do lists curling away to either side like waves. Rubbed up the wrong way by a neighbour: “peace” smooths my hackles like a stroked cat.

The book is well worth reading in depth and the full meditation works deep within. I use it to start and end my day. But the power of “peace” used while waiting for a light to change, riding up in an elevator, cutting carrots or wrapped in a soft towel is transformative. The mind’s chatter lulls into the “peace that passes all understanding.”

 

 

Freebooksifter: a site for free e-books – link

One-Minute Meditation on Four Words by Sebastian Dackow

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in books that caught my mind and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peace Full

  1. Pingback: Feeling is Believing | Pathway through Pain – Journey to Joy

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

