Let Go and Let ….?

Serendipity – a lovely word. Sounds like skipping in sunlight.

Having watched Jane Fonda taking on climate change to make a mark before she dies, am disconsolately reviewing how little mark most of us make.

My inner Protestant immediately starts urging action; reaction – I feel exhausted and haven't even started anything. As a compromise, I put it to the universe and go to sleep.

The next day, serenditously, up pops an ebook: Relax More; Try Less. Very appealing title, so I immediately download it. Much of its message demonstrably works: life runs much better when you allow it to unfold. Often I set my objective – over to you – and wait. I never know how it will happen, but it does.

When I was on the public speaking circuit, I had a working year from September to June, when I would diligently pursue leads. However, in July and August, when the kids were out of school, I switched off my office persona. Periodically, a thought would ping – like a What's App: phone so and do. And every time it brought work.

So the idea in this book is to stop trying, take time to let life happen. In particular, do things that make you feel relaxed. When you deeply relax, you feel blessed and abundant, which then attracts well-being in your life. Really a form of mindfulness – with benefits.

Obediently, I list activities that make me most centred and relaxed – and, no surprise, they aren't vacations, possessions or food. They are little moments, when I stop doing. Top of the list was playing sudoku on my iTouch. Why? It means I put down my to-do list, rest my aching back, make no demands and am totally absorbed. Second came sitting on a park bench looking through a willow tree at the lake. Then, taking fresh laundry off the line. (Query – sad life?)

On second thoughts, a good thing. My life is very limited because of my back, so being relaxed and deeply content with the things I can do is obviously a good thing.

Am aware as I cherish relaxation, mindfully cutting carrots or watching clouds, how much of my day is normally steam-powered by shoulds. How much tension and rush is in my normal actions, how I sit in judgment on the worth of my deeds. (English Protestant background triumphing.) It is also surprising when I accept what is, when I stop checking the fullness of the glass how much easier it is to be grateful.

 

“There are times when we stop, we sit still.

We listen and breezes from a whole other world begin to whisper.”

James Carroll

 

Relax More, Try Less: the Easy Path to Abundance by Neville Goddard and Tim Grimes

 

 

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in books that caught my mind and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

