Feeling is Believing

Wishful thinking doesn’t work. If we tell ourselves good luck will happen, it remains obstinately in the future, . If we enthuse: I will be a good skier – sure, our subconscious responds. Some day, but not now; meantime we break a leg.

Does the same work for prayer? I had been using the loving-kindness meditation as my personal prayer. My version went: May I be safe, healthy and happy; may I live with ease (that is go with life rather than fight it). I end with May I dwell in the beloved, which is to me living steeped in loving kindness to all – rather than hassle, competition and irritation.

Then I happened upon the writings of Neville Goddard and the puzzle pieces fit:

  • Our world is the mirror of our subconscious beliefs. We are like radio receivers translating information our senses receive into a concrete world. We make manifest the universe as we perceive it.
  • Our beliefs are Impressed on our subconscious by our feelings. Our subconscious doesn’t care about truth or reason; it faithfully brings about what we feel. I learnt long ago never to use illness as an excuse to get out of something. Within 24 hours, I would be sick – with the sore throat or flu, I had so glibly conjured up.

So what about prayer? The mere act of asking for health etc. was underlining the fact that I was NOT healthy. So I changed my prayer to positive statements: I am safe, I am happy …. And with each affirmation, I consciously FELT the state. I felt the wrapped round feeling of security, the pulsing of health through my body, the joy of happiness.

It helped that I had done something similar after my spinal fusion. Every day I imagined how my body would feel, walking freely and easily. It was based on Dr. Herbert Benson’s theory of “remembered wellness”. It worked spectacularly and I went from a wheel chair to running upstairs, light on my feet as a teenager. The snag was I never thought to imagine sitting comfortably or moving my sacrum. Both activities still give me great pain.

Of course, changing from supplication to statement removes God from the picture, so I included gratitude. I thanked God or the Universe for the health I was affirming.

So why was I surprised, when two weeks later, I caught my diary entry, “I feel well – healthy. It is like physical joy – being in tune with being. I feel at ease, living in the Beloved.” The feeling was so strong and right that I kept remarking on it – to Bill and to my doctor. Literally, the words of my prayer made manifest. I wasn’t expecting it, it just happened. Despite chronic pain, my body believes it is healthy and that knowledge is felt deeply within.

More info:

Loving kindness meditation – link

One Minute Meditation on Four Words by Sebastion Dako

Peace Full – link

Relax More, Try Less by Neville Goddard and Tim Grimes

Remembered Wellness

Timeless Healing: the Power and Biology of Belief by Herbert Benson, MD

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in books that caught my mind, Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling is Believing

  1. Pingback: Untitled | Pathway through Pain – Journey to Joy

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

