To Believe or Not to Believe: That is the Question

My prayer, to be healthy, safe and happy, to live easily, came about in under two weeks as I told in my last post, Feeling is Believing. Nothing changed in my life in those two weeks – except my prayer, which moved from a request “May I…” to a statement “I am….”

I am not miraculously cured of a disease; my back pain hasn't changed. My life has continued placidly on the same dull(?) lines. But two weeks after changing my nightly prayer, actually while at an annual checkup with my GP, I heard myself saying strongly, “I am well!”

And walking that evening, I felt the energy of health pulsing through me and deep-rooted happiness. When I wrote my diary, I was stunned at the words – I was describing the positive strength I felt – in the same words as my prayer.

So why, how? It sounds too simplistic. Then reading Feeling is the Secret by Neville Goddard, I got a clue. He explains not only that we need to feel our affirmations deeply to impress them on our obedient subconscious, but we need to do this last thing before sleep. This way, our subconscious will absorb them and act to build the reality we affirm.

Of course, I was doing this just before sleep, by chance not design. But what had I done most of my life previously? What I had been taught as a child: confess my faults and affirm my weakness. The General Confession describes us as “miserable sinners.” And continues glumly, “There is no health in us.”

How brilliantly, accurately had my subconscious created my reality: chronic pain, celiac disease, underactive thyroid.” Full marks!

Now, I still have back pain, but it is no longer a defining charicteristic, more a nuisance to be factored in. My body feels healthy. It believes I am healthy and that has a huge knock-on effect. It changes how I walk and move, which loops back in, affirming how well I feel and minimizing pain to the sidelines.

Don't get me wrong – my back still hurts. Last night we went to the annual village BBQ where we live. That meant I took extra meds and lay down before going. I sat at table for two hours and today can hardly move. Am writing this flat on my back on my mini-iPad.

What's different is that my identity is not a “pain patient” but an eager, joyful person. My pain is psychologically peripheral. And life has become easier (May I live easily), because I don't feel my pain any more as a social embarrassment, or limiting the essence of who I am.

I just read today that couples who list together photos on Facebook, write on each other's wall and generally stress their relationship, however infuriating to their friends, are much more likely to stay together. Of course, – they are constantly affirming their relationship. Just as my changed prayer affirms my love of life.

 

More info:

Feeling is the Secret by Neville Goddard

The Couple that Facebook Together, Stay Together – link

 

 

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in prayer, self-talk, books that caught my mind and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

