The Circle of Grace

Grace is a circle. We are loved unconditionally because. No reason, just because.

It's difficult to accept that. There are hidden mechanisms in place that make it feel wrong, boastful, “too big for my boots.” The easiest way is to remember loving my small children – whenever, whatever, because. If I can accept love, in every way it presents, not just the idea of God's love, but also every manifestation from kind words and acts, to a golden sunset, then it becomes cyclical. I accept willingly (and stop fighting, brushing off, ignoring it) and from that acceptance comes my desire to return what kindness I can to its source. The circle of grace.

I have always felt life was like an exam, which I was trying to pass – and the pass mark was set way over my head. All I could see was daily failures and if I counted my small successes, that turned into the bigger failure of pride. The whole bundle was tied with a big red ribbon marked SIN.

I like the idea that God loves us before we are good – because, and that if I accept that love, I may become good – the circle of grace. Become good sounds grandiloquent – I don't mean saintly, but that slowly living in the light of that love, my motives, my reason for existence, may become clearer, cleaner, washed with a loving light, and my anxious, self-centred prickles may be made smooth.

It's a huge relief to admit that I fail, that I am only human – and accept that I am loved. I can see now how for so much of my life, I have flailed at trying, despaired at failing; worse, I have bought the judgemental barricade – us and them. Judgement worn like a corset to keep me tightly within. I now feel wide open, relaxed, at peace – not good, but somehow truthful.

The drivenness has gone out of life, the desperate need to do life right, not fail. I finally understand that it is OK to start from here. I am not taking a test all day – no wonder that I counted my days by what I had done. Yet, each night, going over the day before sleep, the todo list was out of sight. All I counted was the interactions, the warmth, the love of life.

Am more and more seeing that I am you and you are me. Yet this doesn't lack boundaries – I feel well rooted. It's more being able to switch in a flash to see out of your eyes and back to mine. It brings compassion, humility and understanding. And as I understand you, I also understand myself. As I forgive, so am I forgiven. The circle of grace.

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in Finding our way, forgiveness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

