Simple Serendipity

Last post, I wrote about living a dialogue with the Source or God. After clicking on “publish,” I flicked through my collection of quotes for future posts – and fell straight into a prime example.

While I was writing my post, across the room Bill was working on a cartoon for a local newspaper. We are both part of a group campaigning to save our city's historic downtown from development: 23 storey high rises and a major highway obliterating our last piece of unspoilt waterfront. You can see how beautiful it is as I use the photo at the head of my blog.

A nasty letter in the local paper this morning described our group as “old ladies” who wouldn't even be around – clinging to the past. The inference being “good riddance.” A chorus of indignation on our protest website, especially from the many younger members.

Bill started drawing, but was stuck for the caption. Then I saw it: a quote I had scribbled down several months ago. A Greek proverb:

A society grows great when old men plant trees in whose shade they will never sit.

Such simple serendipity. Why did I look now, at this moment? I had forgotten the quote completely.

 

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in serendipity. Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

