Acupad – bliss

I always try and pass on any gizmo that works for lower back pain. I found this one on Dragon's Den: the Acupad, developed by a chiropractor, Dr. Cohen.

When you first handle it, it feels hard and bony, but 1½ minutes in the microwave not only warms it up, but makes it softer. And it retains the heat for a long time. It fits snugly in the small of your back and the heat really soothes the pain. Now I have got mine, I carry it everywhere. So I arrive at a friend's house with it already heated to go – and the heat will last.

The instructions show other ways of using it/them, but I just love it on my lower back. Since having it, I do seem more mobile and less fraught with pain.

Dr. Cohen also makes an Acuball and a sort of dumbell called the Acuback, but they are too large to work for me. The joy of the Acupad is being able to lie down on it and let the heat seep into your bones.

 

More info:

Acupad description – link

Acupad review – link

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in back pain, aids for chronic back pain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

