Be the Change

 

“Stunned!” my friends are saying. We can't believe the election result – and every day it seems to get worse.

My question – and no one has an answer – is what do I or you do? I can't DO anything, but also I can't stand by, a safety pin on my jacket as protest. It feels like a miasma, a pall of intolerance and bigotry has settled over us. And it is erupting like acne across France, Germany, Brexit, you name it.

So I can't drown in the hate rhetoric, but if I shut it out then am I tacitly condoning it? What do I tell my grandchildren?

How do we go forward in the wake of Election Day? I am struck by the word “wake”: its tripartite meaning. Wake as in aftermath, wake as the turmoil washing behind the ship of state and wake as mourning. For I am mourning the loss of common decency, tolerance, honesty and generosity. And it hurts.

I remember during the first Gulf War, my daughter phoning in the middle of the night, crying. Her room mate's parents were far away, being bombed. She didn't know if they were alive or dead. After calming her, I stumbled back to bed. “This is so wrong,” beat through my head.

Again, what to do? The only thing I could think of was to rid myself of anything that might mirror anger or hate, so my energy was in no way contributing to war. I had read that in cities with high levels of meditation, the crime rate drops. So if we all try to live as kindly, tolerantly and honourably as we can, could our energy counterbalance the Donald's influence?

As Ghandi said, “Be the change you want to see in the world”

 

More info:

Meditation study – link

Note: Ghandi's actual words were deeper that the popular saying we all know: “We but mirror the world. All the tendencies present in the outer world are to be found in the world of our body. If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change.”

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in choice, stress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

