An Injection by Any Other Name

 

 

 

 

Sitting in the dentist's chair is probably THE most unfavourite place to be. And when there, it feels as if we are always there – and time passes very slowly.

The injection, described hopefully as a “little prick” is the nastiest part. So today, captive with a bright light bearing down and TV showing optimistic views, at a very peculiar angle, I thought, “Suppose I enjoy the injection?”

Normally, I endure with tight muscles, but today, I thought, “it is only a sensation.” I am the one who codes it unpleasant and coil my muscles in defence. What if I just relaxed into the sensation and observed it. The crazy thing is, my muscles relaxed and the pain became interesting rather than unpleasant. Why on earth didn't I think of this before?

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in life journey and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

