A Space to Be

“Suppose I don't get better? Suppose they tell me this is it?” We were talking about my friend's sudden, out-of-the-blue neurological attack, which took her overnight from an active, hiking grandmother to shuffling with a walker. And unremitting pain. She has been incredibly determined and brave; slowly she is crawling back up from the pit and should recover. “But supposing……?”

Then It is a totally different ball game. While there's hope, you research possibilities and daily whip up your enthusiasm. Still claiming, “This isn't me. Not my reality. A passing nightmare”.

When the door is slammed, everything changes. As I tried to explain to my friend, you have to reach a place beyond pain, where your view is large enough that the pain becomes less significant. Your world view has to expand, even as your possibilities shrink. You no longer cheerlead yourself, no longer paint optimistic future pictures.

Instead, you take a birds' eye view, no longer living IN your body, but way above. Like that You-Tube video that starts with a girl lying on grass and zooms out into space. She gets smaller and the universe bigger. That's how I tried to get above my pain, the loss of an active participating life.

As I said in an earlier post, Barry Neil Kaufman points out that beliefs underlie our assumptions on life. Beliefs are not facts, but opinions – and you can always change an opinion. So I tried to change my world view from inside my life – activities, travel, even seeing my grandchildren – to a higher perspective, where life itself is magnificent. I may be small and limited, but joy exists in all its beauty – someone somewhere is young and in love, a student in St. Marks Square in Venice or watching the sun set over the Golden Gate Bridge.

Love, beauty and joy exist, even if I am not doing or feeling them myself. They are there, so life is good and generous. Life is beyond pain.

 

 

More info:

YouTube video Eye Zoom to Spacelink

Above and Beyond – March 6, 2016 – link

Above and Beyond the Space of Pain – March 21, 2012 – link

 

About UntraveledRoads

Fascinated by life, looking for answers to chronic pain and finding unexpected gifts. Interested in people, ideas, healing and humour. I am very happily married with three children and a kitten. As English born immigrants to Canada, we have family spread overseas, a daughter in South Africa and one in England. We also run a charity in South Africa to educate black, rural South African Women. Our first girl from a rural township has just graduated as an accountant from Johannesburg University and got a good job in a bank.
This entry was posted in choice, chronic pain and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Space to Be

  1. I love the power of thought at work here! “Pain is inevitable…suffering is optional” as Buddha said. I admire your energy and ability to convey. Will be reading more!

I really value your comments and particularly where something resonates with your experience.

